Being a reviewer, I want to talk about this.

I was reading John Crowe Ransom’s article called ‘Criticism, Inc.’ and it states a wonderful thing about reviewers.

He says that a reviewer has a job of presentation and interpretation as well as criticism. The reviewer should know when the criticism begins and make it as clean and definitive as “his” (or her) business permits.

A review, in my opinion, should not consist of just amazing things about the literary work. It needs to state the negatives, too. That is how the reads of our reviews can get an idea about what exactly they can expect.

I have always tried to write such reviews. I tell my readers if there are any loopholes and I even state it clearly if there are any editing errors, be it grammatical or spelling-wise. These tiny things are important to be told, I think.

But, there have been times when I haven’t been able to wrap my head around a single negative thing regarding the book. Does that mean that it is perfect? This is when I try to look at the book from a different perspective. There are books that ARE DEFINITELY perfect to me. But, I will l always keep trying to keep my reviews as helpful as they can be for the readers.

What do you think? Would love to know in the comments section. Let’s talk!


Here’s the link to John Crowe Ransom’s article ‘Criticism, Inc.’ if you’d like to give it a read: https://www.vqronline.org/essay/criticism-inc-0


Would love to connect with you on:

Instagram: @bustleboutbooks

Goodreads: Meher Gandhi

Twitter: @meher_gandhi

With love,

Meher

Published by: Meher Gandhi

Hello to all the readers and writers out here! I am Meher Gandhi. I am a dreamer and a wanderer, dreaming of a world made of words and wandering in a land of my own scribblings. I am constantly scribbling my reveries and all the secrets I unearth while living, sometimes it’s on paper, most of the times, it’s mental notes. WordPress is a great platform to showcase the art of writing be it on the spot or else. I am loving this work of writing blogs, reading your blogs, commenting on them, receiving the likes, comments and valuable suggestions. It is all so fun! I am a teenager who loves to read and write. I am a positive person and so are my scribblings. If you want to connect with me then, head over to the contact page in the “my pages” section! Would you like to join me in for a walk in my land of scribblings? With love, Meher.

Categories book blogger, criticism, Happy, literature, reviewerTags, , , , , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a comment