Bustle ‘Bout Books- Review: ‘The Therapist’ by B A Paris

Book Review by Meher Gandhi

Title: The Therapist

Author: B.A. Paris

Genre: Mystery, fiction

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers India

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars

*NOTE: I am extremely grateful to HarperCollins India for sending me this book. However, this does not at all hinder my honest opinions regarding the book. This is a spoiler-free review. All opinions are solely mine.


A chilling psychological thriller that is also a murder mystery and a cozy read, this book reads as a bumpy ride. There were several moments which had me so occupied with the book that my heart skipped a beat or two. 

Alice and Leo decide to shift to a house in The Circle in London. This means that they no longer have to wait for the weekends to see each other. They can spend their lives in a peaceful environment and be together for most of the week. Even though Alice is a bit hesitant to leave her house back in Harlestone, she hopes to be comfortable in her new house soon. Anyway, what could go wrong in a gated society with just 12 houses and an entry that is secured only for the residents?

Well, maybe a murder. Nina Maxwell, a therapist, was murdered in The Circle and everyone believes her husband Oliver to be the murderer. Only a murderer would commit suicide out of guilt, isn’t it? Alice, more than Leo, gets involved in this murder and what we read further is a path of events that’s never linear. There are always surprises and shocks that await the reader and only make the book more compelling.

As for the positives, the book is not an extremely complex read. Even with it’s long paragraphs, you could read the book all day long without wanting to put it down. The novel never lets its secret out until the last moment so you could make all the predictions in the world but chances are that you’ll be surprised with how the murder mystery turns out in the end. Finally, since the book is written in first person, you know exactly what Alice is thinking which gets the reader even more involved in deciphering the conversations between Alice and other residents of The Circle.

There is only one typing error that I came across in the book. In the beginning, the book can seem a little slow but once you finish half of the book, things take a crazy flight!

If you’re somebody who wishes to read psychological thrillers, this one’s for you. If murder mysteries and books with plot twists interest you, then you would have a great reading experience with this one.If you’re somebody who wishes to read psychological thrillers, this one’s for you. If murder mysteries and books with plot twists interest you, then you would have a great reading experience with this one.


QUESTION: Have you ever come across a book that you finish reading but can’t stop thinking about? Which one was it for you? Let me know in the comments ssection and let’s talk!

Connect with me on:

Instagram: @bustleboutbooks

LinkedIn: Meher Gandhi

Twitter: @meher_gandhi

Goodreads: Meher Gandhi

Haven’t followed me yet? Make sure to click that follow button or subscribe by e-mail and never miss my bookish posts that ooze out my love for reading!

With love,

Meher

Published by: Meher Gandhi

Hello to all the readers and writers out here! I am Meher Gandhi. I am a dreamer and a wanderer, dreaming of a world made of words and wandering in a land of my own scribblings. I am constantly scribbling my reveries and all the secrets I unearth while living, sometimes it’s on paper, most of the times, it’s mental notes. WordPress is a great platform to showcase the art of writing be it on the spot or else. I am loving this work of writing blogs, reading your blogs, commenting on them, receiving the likes, comments and valuable suggestions. It is all so fun! I am a teenager who loves to read and write. I am a positive person and so are my scribblings. If you want to connect with me then, head over to the contact page in the “my pages” section! Would you like to join me in for a walk in my land of scribblings? With love, Meher.

Categories book blog, book review, fiction, literature, murdermystery, Photography, psychologyTags, , , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a comment