Bustle ‘Bout Books: Review- ‘Boons and Curses: Legends of the Mythological Mother’ by Yugal Joshi

Title: Boons and Curses: Legends of the Mythological Mother

Author: Yugal Joshi

Genre: Mythology

Publisher: Rupa Publications

My Rating: 5/5 stars

*NOTE: I am extremely grateful to Rupa Publications for sending me this book. However, this does not at all hinder my honest opinions regarding the book. This is a spoiler-free review. All opinions are solely mine.

The entire book is dedicated to a dialogue between Krishna and Kunti. When Kunti is tensed after the end of the Mahabharata war, Krishna engages her in a conversation that involves all the prominent and the greatest mothers of all eras. Be it of Aditi, Diti, Soorpanakha, Sita, Devaki or Yashoda, the stories of all the mothers are explored in ‘Boons and Curses: Legends of the Mythological Mother’ by Yugal Joshi.

The book celebrates motherhood and womanhood. Krishna aims to relieve Kunti of tension and make her realize the impact of her deeds by narrating to her the extremes that the mothers of many ages chose and the deeds that they committed.

The stories are told in such a fluid and delicate manner, that my eyes welled up at more than one instance. I feel glad to have read this book for the same reason that my emotions could be captured and manipulated by the retellings. For me, that’s a sign of a great book.

The reader may come across one-two typing errors. This book is one that I know I might pick up again and start reading from wherever I feel like. The emotional turmoils that a mother might go through are so well captured that the narratives are soul-stirring. There is also a glossary at the end of the book which is of great help.

The book is full of beautiful lines and here’s my favourite of them all:

” ‘Aunt, for every child, their mother is the greatest. I am no exception.’ Krishna smiled.”

~ ‘Boons and Curses: Legends of the Mythological Mother’, Yugal Joshi

The more I read about Krishna and the retellings of Mahabharata, the more I am interested to continue. ‘Boons and Curses: Legends of the Mythological Mother’ by Yugal Joshi is one book that would spark your interest and make you want to read more retellings.

This book is the perfect gift for a mother!


Do you like reading mythology?

Are you planning on reading this book? What do you think about the review? Let me know in the comments section below!

Don’t forget to like and comment!

Haven’t followed me yet? Make sure to click that follow button or subscribe by e-mail and never miss my bookish posts that ooze out my love for reading!

Connect with me on:

Instagram: @bustleboutbooks

Twitter: @meher_gandhi

Goodreads: Meher Gandhi

Pinterest: thescribblings

With love,

Meher

Published by: Meher Gandhi

Hello to all the readers and writers out here! I am Meher Gandhi. I am a dreamer and a wanderer, dreaming of a world made of words and wandering in a land of my own scribblings. I am constantly scribbling my reveries and all the secrets I unearth while living, sometimes it’s on paper, most of the times, it’s mental notes. WordPress is a great platform to showcase the art of writing be it on the spot or else. I am loving this work of writing blogs, reading your blogs, commenting on them, receiving the likes, comments and valuable suggestions. It is all so fun! I am a teenager who loves to read and write. I am a positive person and so are my scribblings. If you want to connect with me then, head over to the contact page in the “my pages” section! Would you like to join me in for a walk in my land of scribblings? With love, Meher.

Categories blogger, book, book review, Happy, literature, mythology, reader, reviewTags, , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a comment