Bustle ‘Bout Books: Review- Where The Sky Meets The Sand By Chris Loehmer Kincaid

Name: Where The Sky Meets The Sand

Author: Chris Loehmer Kincaid

Genre: Fiction, religious fiction, Christian fiction

Publishing date: July 13, 2017

My Rating: 5/5 stars


*NOTE: I am extremely grateful to BookCrash for sending me this book as a review copy. However, this does not at all hinder my honest opinions regarding the book. This is a spoiler-free review. All opinions are solely mine.


Oh, what a fun and emotional ride this book has been! I absolutely love the author’s writing style. In this book, Chris Loehmer Kincaid has brought forward all the emotions via the characters very efficiently and this is something that I always love about any great book.

Where The Sky Meets The Sand brings forward various issues including poverty, illiteracy, and unawareness. This book is a reflector of the social and health conditions of people struck in the web of poverty.

The book is set in various places, the focal point being Africa. Our protagonist Jenny Neumeyer and her husband Paul Neumeyer plan to spend their vacations in Kenya. At first, Jenny doesn’t seem to be too comfortable with the idea, considering the living conditions in Africa. However, she knows that Paul always plans the best of trips. So they set off to Africa, ready to enjoy to the fullest and photograph the scenic and wildlife beauty. Before venturing on the journey, little does the couple know that they were going to come face to face with the harsh realities of life in Africa and take much interest in it.

When in Africa, the couple with two Australians visit various places in Nairobi and photograph many wild creatures. On their way back to their camp one day, they meet a boy who is stranded and desolate with nobody to take care of him. Jenny feels the rush of emotions and tells the others that it would be great if they could take the boy to the camp for at least a few days. They all feel sympathetic towards the boy but, Jenny feels it the most. It’s as if she and only she has a different connection with him. For the native Kenyans, this is not a big thing because they often find young boys of the Maasai tribe roaming around hunting for lions because apparently, young boys can become ‘men’ only when they kill a lion.

A lot goes on in this book. I mean it, A LOT! Too many secrets get revealed and it’s just heart-warming to see persons who live comfortable lives make efforts to improvise the living conditions of the impoverished.

I had never read a book like this one and I am glad to have read it now. I highly recommend this book to all those who would like to get an insight on the struggles of the poor and who would like to see how the poor people can be helped. It is a must for all those who haven’t yet read any ‘missionary’ book or books that bring forward the social and health problems prevailing in places like East Africa. I recommend it to all!


Have you read this book? Or are you planning to? Let me know in the comments section below!

Don’t forget to like and share!

Check out my previous post here.

Find me on:

With love,

Meher

Published by: Meher Gandhi

Hello to all the readers and writers out here! I am Meher Gandhi. I am a dreamer and a wanderer, dreaming of a world made of words and wandering in a land of my own scribblings. I am constantly scribbling my reveries and all the secrets I unearth while living, sometimes it’s on paper, most of the times, it’s mental notes. WordPress is a great platform to showcase the art of writing be it on the spot or else. I am loving this work of writing blogs, reading your blogs, commenting on them, receiving the likes, comments and valuable suggestions. It is all so fun! I am a teenager who loves to read and write. I am a positive person and so are my scribblings. If you want to connect with me then, head over to the contact page in the β€œmy pages” section! Would you like to join me in for a walk in my land of scribblings? With love, Meher.

Categories blogger, book blog, book blogger, book review, bookaholic, BooksTags, , , , , , 3 Comments

3 thoughts on “Bustle ‘Bout Books: Review- Where The Sky Meets The Sand By Chris Loehmer Kincaid”

Leave a comment