Existence Precedes Essence

Am I who I am because you see me that way? Or am I who I am because I think I know what perfection means? Is my definition of ‘perfection’ same as yours? What makes me, me

The world is a mirror of my freedom.

                      ~ Jean Paul Sartre

We are shaped according to how we perceive the world around us; according to what we think a perfect human being is like. We are not born with premonitions which decide our disposition. We grow the soul as we ourselves grow.

Sartre came up with this theory ‘existence precedes essence’ meaning that there is no pre-structured essence which is found in a person. It is the way the human carries on with the surroundings, which makes him who he really is. 

There is no pre-designed formula which might tell us how a human is to act like. We are who we are because we make choices – choices which are designed by our freedom. The path you choose when you have nobody around you, when you’re totally free, that’s what makes you, you. We choose to get inheritted with something unique.

Uniqueness. Isn’t that something all of us want?

We live, we unearth, we fall, we rise and in the end, we create ourselves giving rise to the masterpieces of our identity. It’s our reveries and our encounters that shape the ‘character’. Personality is formed when beliefs seem to be facts. Somehow, our notions are so different from each other’s, making us unique, making us unexampled.

My personality​ is a result of the rides I have ridden, the paths I have walked. 

It’s so great yet, strange to know that more than 7 and a half billion people living on this planet hold up so many different kinds of beliefs. Of course, you might find someone with shared qualities but you still cannot call that person to be an exact replica of yours. Can you? Isn’t that because they haven’t been through what you have been through?

The creation and evolution of behaviours and finally, an overall personality is so mesmerizing. We don’t figure out the changes as they eventuate but after the ages passing by, when we look back to who we were, we realize that we have been continuously refashioning. It is just so thought-provoking to know what exactly came on our way that changed us for what we thought was forever. 

Yes surely, change is the only thing constant.

We exist and we create our own essence. 

Found this great? Then, like, comment and share! Feel free to share your views on this.

Check out my previous post here.

With love,

Meher

15 thoughts on “Existence Precedes Essence”

  1. I was truly mesmerized by the depth of the thought behind your post , thanks for sharing a moving post ! According to your convenience please do read some of my writings would love to know what you think about them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

